You are currently browsing the daily archive for 17 September 2011.

The purpose of this meditation is to firmly plant the wish to cherish others deep in our mind.

I began the meditation by thinking about how the mind of cherishing others protects me from suffering. When I cherish others – in other words, when I view them as important, and their happiness and freedom as being important – I naturally act in virtuous ways. If my mind if filled with cherishing love, my mind cannot develop anger, jealousy or attachment.

With a mind of cherishing love, my actions are all positive, leading to peaceful and harmonious relationships with everyone I meet. I can view everyone as a kind friend. If they are angry, with cherishing love I can see that they are giving me the opportunity to practise patience. If they are fortunate, they are giving me the opportunity to practise rejoicing. If they are attractive, they are giving me the opportunity to practice non-attachment. With a mind of cherishing others, I will view them in this light, rather than as triggers for my delusions.  The mind of cherishing others protects me from these delusions.

Through acting in virtuous ways, I will create the causes for my future happiness and good conditions. Through these circumstances I will be able to progress along the spiritual path and attain its ultimate goal.

So cherishing others serves to provide me with both immediate and long lasting happiness. What a true friend is the mind of cherishing others!

I thought about these points and arrived at the conclusion that I must develop and maintain a qualified mind of cherishing others. I must maintain this view constantly, and keep renewing it in my mind all day. I dwelt on this determination and slowly a feeling of great joy and happiness arose, knowing that this approach to life has so many advantages. I stayed in this feeling of joy and happiness for the rest of the meditation, and I did not want it to end.

Dedication

May all living beings realise that all the happiness in this world comes from the wish to cherish others, and in so doing quickly attain enlightenment for the benefit of all.

Practice in the Meditation Break

I will view everyone I meet with a mind of cherishing: they are important, and their happiness and freedom are important.

Modern Buddhism

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,002 other subscribers